Black Butler

Black Butler is a manga and series created by Yana Toboso and produced by A-1 Picture. The manga series is still ongoing and count 23 volume to date. The anime show count three seasons with twenty-four episode for the first season, twelve for the second and ten for the third one. Ten OVA ( one linked to the first season, six linked to the second and two orignal one coming from the Book of Murder arc), a movie gonna be released in 2017 for the Book of Atlantic arc.

Trailer

Season 1

Season 2

Season 3

Synopsis

Young Ciel Phantomhive is known as “the Queen’s Guard Dog,” taking care of the many unsettling events that occur in Victorian England for Her Majesty. Aided by Sebastian Michaelis, his loyal butler with seemingly inhuman abilities, Ciel uses whatever means necessary to get the job done. But is there more to this black-clad butler than meets the eye?

In Ciel’s past lies a secret tragedy that enveloped him in perennial darkness—during one of his bleakest moments, he formed a contract with Sebastian, a demon, bargaining his soul in exchange for vengeance upon those who wronged him. Today, not only is Sebastian one hell of a butler, but he is also the perfect servant to carry out his master’s orders—all the while anticipating the delicious meal he will eventually make of Ciel’s soul. As the two work to unravel the mystery behind Ciel’s chain of misfortunes, a bond forms between them that neither heaven nor hell can tear apart.


look at those beautiful blue eye

look at those beautiful blue eye

It took me time before I decide to watch the anime, I was already reading the manga and I must said that Sebastian is really one hell of a butler.  I know the series is not done yet, but I’m still writing this post, since we are not totally sure if we gonna have a fourth season after the movie coming in 2017.

I must say I really not regretting watching it, the main story line is really nice and

I'll sell my soul to him anytime

I’ll sell my soul to him anytime

all the side mysteries make it even more interesting. Despite the fact it can me really dark at some point it still have a comedic side to it. Some character, like the Undertaker and Grell Sutcliff, make the story less depressing. Cause we can’t hide the fact that the young Earl Ciel Phantomhive didn’t have it easy. His parent got murdered on his birthday, he got abducted and to “save” his life to be able to find the one who ordered the assassination of his family, he had to sell his soul to the sexiest demon ever to a machiavellian demon.


Of course like most of the trending anime series where the TV show is faster than the manga, the story differed a bit and the whole second season is just a complete filler. So if you wanna watch it like it is in the manga you have to stop the first season right after the food contest and then watch the third season

Now don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the second season was a logical sequel to the end of the first one, but that as much as I enjoy the third one.

One interesting fact I read about the fact is that it was supposed to be label as Yaoi, but the publisher Square Enix though it would not sell so it became a Shonen. I will not lie, I wouldn’t mind seeing the Yaoi version of it even if it’s written SHOTA in big and bold character.

bonus Book of Atlantic promotional video…I can’t fucking wait

2 responses to “Black Butler

  1. I think this is a really great series that’s really tough to sell people on. I watched the first season and thought it was alright. It was mostly atmostpheric above storytelling, but it was season 2 that really got me into it. Had a blast, until Book of Circus. That just blew the doors off this series and I officially became a fan 😀 Hopefully they’ll either continue adapting the arcs in these Ova/films or continue with another series (although I highly doubt that) because this is too good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

