First Impression: Yuri on Ice

Despite leaving in a country where the hockey is the national sport, figure skating is probably my favorite winter Olympic sport. Since I can barely stand on skate, I’m always amaze to see the professional skater doing all their figure with so much ease and grace. So when I saw there would be an anime about figure skating I was quite excited.

Trailer

Synopsis

The show’s story revolves around Yuri Katsuki, who carried all of Japan’s hopes on his shoulders to win at the Gran Prix Finale ice skating competition, but suffered a crushing defeat. He returns home to Kyushu and half feels like he wants to retire, and half feels like he wants to continue ice skating. With those mixed feelings swirling inside him, he confines himself inside his parents house. Suddenly the five-time consecutive world championship ice skater Viktor Nikiforov appears before him, and along with him is Yuri Plisetsky, a young Russian figure skater who is already defeating his seniors. Viktor and both Yuris take up the challenge on an unprecedented Gran Prix series.


Okay so just watched the second episode a moment ago and that anime is so beautiful to watch. My eyes really like what they see. The animation is great. I’m completely in love with the SD character they are so cute.

END…

I’m kidding, only two episode I already know I will love this anime.  Yes it’s another sport anime, but it doesn’t give me the same vibe as the other. Yes there is a competition side, of course we are talking about sport, there is no point to call in a sport anime, if there is no competition. However I feel like they will show us more about the character outside the rink. There will be serious and/or intense moment that will keep me on the edge of my chair (bed),  but a second later we will have some SD character coming from nowhere just to ease everything.

Regarding the character, Yuri Plisetsky is a little prick and he need to be punch, but since he is underage, we can’t do that, so instead I will confiscate his smart phone and let him whine…Yuuri Katsuki…just need to be protected the kid is so precious. As for Viktor, he is just gay for  Katsuki fabulous plus his voice actor his Junichi Suwabe (Keigo Atobe, Daiki Aomine, Undertaker and many more), not only Viktor look hella fine but his voice is a real turn on, no wonder precious YuuriK. (That’s gonna be sooo confusing) blush each time he see him.

previews 3 ep.

Of course I have to talk about the opening, History Maker by Dean Fujioka, I like listen to it on repeat for about half an hour and I don’t regret it . So far I’m only watching seven anime from the fall season and from those seven Yuri on Ice opening is the best I hear. I really like the “Disneyesque” vibe the track give. The opening song is not only beautiful to hear, but also visually stunning.

I’m certainly looking forward the next episode…who knows maybe I will be kind and give back Plisetsky is smart phone.

10 responses to “First Impression: Yuri on Ice

  1. Definitely the best opening of the season (or the year, I can’t think of any other opening that has made me pay that much attention). So far I’m really enjoying the anime but I’m still kind of getting into the characters as they all still feel like we’re just scratching the surface.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a good thing I did the Top 10 opening before, cause I would had hard time to make the list. It was already hard enough. History Maker would probably push back X.U (Seraph of the End )

      Like

Leave a Reply

