Top 20 Character Songs (Part 1)

One thing I like with anime series is when the voice actor are recording song as character of the anime series in which they play and they is countless of those song. They even release CD like actual singer. I don’t know how many time I imagined the character recording their song.
While doing the Top 10 Opening and Top 10 ending, I realize that I probably have more character songs on my iPod then opening and ending combine. Therefore I though it would be a nice idea to list you my favorite.

This time it’s a Top 20 and it will be divided in four parts. This Top gonna be really big post, since I will provide you the English translation of the song when I can find them. No commentary this time, unless I really feel the need to say something about the song.

The first part will cover the position 20 to 16

Let’s begin!!!

20th Position

Title: Honey Bee
Character: Aoi Kentaro (CV: Toshiyuki Toyonaga)
Anime: Prince Of Tennis
video no available anymore follow the link for listen to the song sorry about the inconvenient.

English Lyrics
Somewhere there, far away where my eyes can’t see
something unseen is waiting
In the gradation of the golden morning glow
I’m only running earnestly

I shout at the endless, vast sky
and brace my dancing feelings to the fight called “today”

I know sweat and tears, Honey bee
Ojii’s racket is my partner
My joy and this ambition, Honey bee
It’s fine if only you understand them
I vowed to my heart and looked up at the blue sky

Being always beaten up from an early age
everyone dreams at least once
At that moment they feel it,
the breath of life that is rising as if it was approaching

Gracefully, purely, properly, strongly
I hit back putting my whole heart and soul into this one ball

I triumph over my weak self, Honey bee
Your power is swelling in my arm
In the middle of the sky, brightly red, Honey bee
I want to live burning like the sun
Because I was born in the country of the rising sun

I know sweat and tears, Honey bee
Ojii’s racquet is my partner
My joy and this ambition, Honey bee
It’s fine if only you understand them
I vowed to my heart and looked up at the blue sky


19th Position

Title: Ao no Kanata
Character: Nanase Haruka (CV:Nobunaga Shimazaki)
Anime: Free!

English Lyric
Submerged beneath the tranquil water and drops of wavering light
As if to melt into the silence
I match my heartbeat to the ripples in the water

Everything becomes one, my course is set
I know this, and I will accept it with all I am

I know a place I can call my own
No one’s voice can reach me here, wo-oh
It’s something much more precious than victory or defeat
This scenery that always occupies my thoughts
The blue yonder forever etched into my memory

I can try to resist, but it makes no difference here, I am all alone
The current mirrors my heart and shifts from moment to moment

It envelops my body completely, I place my trust
In that power, and I will never doubt it

I know a place where I can be free
Here, even my doubts wither away to next to nothing, wo-oh
Now, as I swim at my own speed
Nothing can stand in my way, I want to pursue
The eternal blue yonder

At the sensation that traces my existence, I’ll slip into the water
To find the true freedom that rises to the surface

I know a place I can call my own
No one’s voice can reach me here, wo-oh
It’s something much more precious than victory or defeat
This scenery that always occupies my thoughts
The blue yonder forever etched into my memory


18th Position

Title: Shalala Goes On
Character: Kise Ryouta (CV: Ryōhei Kimura)
Anime: Kuroko No Basuke

English Lyric
K I S E shalalalai

Work up a sweat and go recklessly with a Shalala, now is the time to get stronger
It should be frustrating, yet I’m getting heated up, I’m always on the search for amazing people
No matter what wall is blocking me, I’ll show you I can overcome it all

You don’t need to tell me to not be indifferent, can’t you just ignore me for a bit
We did our best together, so I’m not lonely at all
Of course I can do everything, aside from that I’m also popular with the girls
Even if I look like this, I can get more serious than you think, I’ll play a game with you

It’s not like me to do something like shed any tears
Ah, this just might be what is known as youth

Get really into this recklessly with a Shalala, at this time I am in the midst of growing
Having fun is something I don’t know about, but I’m serious so it’ll get more interesting
I can do it all, I’ll draw out all my spirit

Even if I smell unpleasant due to being covered in mud, it’ll be okay, my stylishness is still seen
You can’t do it half-heartedly, there’s no meaning if you don’t win
It seems like around this time I’ll be caught, the next time I’ll have already gotten accustomed to it
My intuition is being relentless, I anticipate you to request for me

If I’m going to put it all my effort, I’ll do it to the point that it’s scary
Ah, my talent is evolving, from here on now is the highlight of the play

Work up a sweat and go recklessly with a Shalala, now is the time to get stronger
It should be frustrating, yet I’m getting heated up, I’m always on the search for amazing people
No matter what wall is blocking me, I’ll show you I can overcome it all

Get really into this recklessly with a Shalala, at this time I am in the midst of growing
Having fun is something I don’t know about, but I’m serious so it’ll get more interesting
I can do it all, I’ll draw out all my spirit
There’s a huge wall in front of me, I’ll show you I can overcome it soon

K I S E shalalalai


17th Position

Title: Crafty
Character: Yuushi Oshitari (CV: Hidenobu Kiuchi)
Anime: Prince of Tennis

English Lyric
Lining up a row of difficult logics
Even tens of times Kiss It’s a lousy shot-gun

Reading and collating the reverse side of the reverse Moving about the Labamba of veritable hell
That’s right I have the game in my hands

There are no set up with these lenses
The sense is the pride Peculiar Flavour
Read the inside, read the next and snap it out
Yes that’s right I’m a Crafty Boy

Almighty flexible Body Using it freely
Even hundreds of times Try It’s hard even being a genius

A delayed attack and a voice of “You may go” Plunge into serious mode
Ah More, more far away

Yes or No unseen Fearless smile
No matter what difficulties Yes Mr. Poker-face
Read the inside, read the next and snap it out
Yes that’s right I’m a Crafty Boy

There are no set up with these lenses
The sense is the pride Peculiar Flavour
Read the inside, read the next and snap it out
Yes that’s right I’m a Crafty Boy

Yes or No unseen Fearless smile
No matter what difficulties Yes Mr. Poker-face
Read the inside, read the next and snap it out
Yes that’s right I’m a Crafty Boy


16th Position

Title: Realize
Character: Ryouma Echizen (CV: Junko Minagawa)
Anime: Prince Of Tennis

English Lyrics
Now, in these hands,
I grab a hold of the light,
enveloped in the wind that guides us into the future.

With gaze so strong it can shoot through even the sky
I fix my eyes on my destination.

I will not waver
even if it were to shatter my pride;
because a decision has been made on that day.

Now, the wild instincts that sleep in my body awakes,
roaring as it kicks off everything.

One day, I will show you
that I can see with my own eyes
that which can be seen after I overcame the limits.

I swear in my heart that I will keep going on,
even if I were engolved by darkness

Now, in these hands, I grab a hold of the light,
enveloped in the wind that guides us into the future.

I will not waver
even if it were to shatter my prided;
because a decision has been made on that day.

Now, the wild instincts that sleep in my body awakes,
roaring as it kicks off everything.

Now, in these hands, I grab a hold of the light,
enveloped by the wind that guide us into the future.


This is the end of the first part, hope you enjoy the song as much I enjoy them.

SEE YA!!!

3 responses to “Top 20 Character Songs (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: Top 20 Characters Song (Part2) – Mel in Anime Land·

  2. Pingback: Top 20 Characters Song (Part 3) – Mel in Anime Land·

  3. Pingback: Top 20 Characters Song (Last Part) – Mel in Anime Land·

Leave a Reply

