TBT – Mysterious Cities of Gold


Japanese Title: Taiyō no ko Esuteban (Esteban, Child of the Sun)
English Title: The Mysterious Cities of Gold
French Title: Les Mystérieuse Citées d’Or
Genre: Adventure, Historical, Sci-Fi
Original Air Date: June 1982 – March 1983
Episode Count: 39


Fanmade Trailer

Japanese Opening (plus ending)

English Opening

French Opening

Synopsis

1532. Esteban, age 12 is a foundling from Barcelona, with a mysterious power of ordering the Sun to appear, for which he is called “Child of the Sun.” Upon the death of his adoptive father, Esteban learns he was rescued as a baby from a sinking ship in the ocean. The mysterious medallion that Esteban wears since ever has a trace somewhere in the New World, probably coming from the Mysterious Cities of Gold. Esteban leaves Spain to find his parents and find out who he is. On the way he meets Zia, an Inca girl who was kidnapped from her people years back and has exactly the same medallion as him. Later on, they are joined by Tao, a young Galapagos robinson, the last descendant of the Empire of Heva, an Empire said to have built the Cities of Gold. Following Coyolite, the shining star represented on their medallions, the three children travel through the unexplored New World, searching for the Cities of Gold, believing that this way is leading them to their lost parents.


Before I start you need to know that I listen to all the three opening post above and I still think the french one is the best…I grew up watching the re-run of the anime, I felt so nostalgic listening to the opening.
When I wrote the introduction of the Throwback Thursday segment, I mention an Japan-French collaboration anime, The Mysterious Cities of Gold is the produce of this collaboration. Some might see it as a western cartoon, but when you know the studio which produce it is Studio Pierrot ( Naruto, Bleach, Tokyo Ghoul) you soon realize that is indeed an anime.

MCoG 2012

MCoG 2012

 

Anime that I loved when I have young and I still love it, I even have the dvd box set of the first season, cause yes there is another one that aired in 2012 . I wasn’t a big fan of that new season, I think it’s cause the visual. It was different, not that I hate it, it’s just it didn’t feel the same. But he you guy decide to watch it after seeing the first season, I will not stop you since it’s the logical sequel to the event of the 82/83 season.  While the first event happen in South-America the 2012 event take place in different Asia…unless it’s only China, the country is big enough to have all the Golden Cities. There is a third season on the way…

If you like the “Indiana Jones” genre you will like this anime!!

 

2 responses to “TBT – Mysterious Cities of Gold

  1. I loved this show as a kid and that English opening got incredibly stuck in my head. That said, other than remembering the song and that I loved it, I can’t remember a single thing about the show now. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

