[Manga] Fruits Basket

Written by Natsuki Takaya, Fruits Basket is a shojo – fantasy manga published in the Hana to Yume magazine from July 1998 to November 2006. The series count twenty-three volumes.


Synopsis

Tooru Honda is a high school freshman who is having a serious bout of misfortune. Not only was she recently orphaned with the tragedy of her mother’s death, but she also has no where to live and is currently residing in a tent! However, when her luck to seems to be at its worst, she meets the Souma family, and is invited to stay with them in exchange for taking care of the household chores.

But it isn’t long before Tooru discovers the Soumas have a deep secret. The family is cursed by the spirits of the Chinese Zodiac, and some of the children born into the Souma family are possessed by these spirits. When possessed, they cannot be “huggled” by the opposite sex, or they transform into their respective Zodiac animal!

However, this doesn’t faze Tooru, who promises to keep their secret. She continues living with them, and her grave humbleness and thankfulness never wanes. As a result, they come to be very important people in her life, and the Soumas begin to realize how very lucky they are to have her.


When I first start the manga segment, I wasn’t planning to include manga which also have an anime adaptation, however lately I realize that there is a lot of manga that I read, have also the anime series, therefore, the list of manga that I read and the list of manga that I can do a post on just shrink considerably. Plus since I doubt watching the anime version of some of those series for various reason, I decide to include them in this segment.


Fruits Basket is one of the first manga that I read, along with Detective Conan, Cardcaptor Sakura and Fullmetal Alchemist, and I really enjoy it despite the fact the main protagonist, Honda Tohru, can be seen as an annoying air-head sometimes, but in my opinion that side of her make me like her more. Plus despite all what she had gone through, she doesn’t complain and stay positive.

The series have a full bunch of interesting character, pretty sure you will find one to your taste. You have the mysterious Shigure, the cute little Kisa, that one who just go along the event Hatsuharu, the hot-head one Kyo and of course the one with way too much energy Momiji. The character development of the series is quite nice. Seeing them getting more mature chapters after chapters make the story even more interesting.

One thing I liked about this manga it’s the major plot-twist and it’s cause of the same plot-twist that I refuse to watch the anime. Pretty sure the anime is good in general, however in my humble opinion I think the studio screw-up somewhere. If you watched the anime and you plan to read the manga, get ready to be shocked.

4 responses to “[Manga] Fruits Basket

  1. Pingback: Week 13 – Mel in Anime Land·

  2. I read the manga back in undergrad, even bought the first 13 volumes… and then a friend of mine spoiled the ending for me! I was devastated, because in my opinion (at the time) Tohru picked the wrong guy. I see now that her choice in a romantic partner was not only obvious from the beginning, but actually perfect…for her (at least that’s what I keep telling myself anyway lol)

    This was definitely one of Natsuki Takaya’s better titles and before the reveal, I loved the premise! On top of that the side characters weren’t just there for decoration, they each had their own stories and plotlines… I actually like the side characters more than the main cast sometimes.

    Anywhoo, this wound up being much longer than I intended, but this was yet another fantastic post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: [GtKM] Fruits Basket – Mel in Anime Land·

Leave a Reply

