First Impression – Chain Chronicle: The Light of Haecceitas

One of the new anime for the Winter Season 2017 I was looking forward too is Chain Chronicle: The Light of Haecceitas. The PV I wacth got me really curious, plus the setting is in a fantasy world, with Dragon Slayer, Mage, Dwarfs, etc. I always like fantasy story, so I though of giving it a try and I ends-up watch the four first episodes.


Basic Information

Genre: Action, Adventure, Magic, Fantasy, Shounen
Aired Date: Sunday
Episode Count: 12
Licensors: FUNimation (dubbed) Crunchyroll (subbed)

Synopsis

My Anime List

A TV anime adaptation of the mobile game Chain Chronicle.

Crunchyroll

This is the story of the Chain Chronicle, a book that describes everything that happens in the world. The citizens of the remote continent of Yggdra once thought that there was nothing beyond their continent. The continent was divided into several regions, each with its own king. Though there were small skirmishes amongst them, a lord, chosen by the kings in conference, always maintained balance, until the evil Black Army arrived. The Volunteer Army, led by Yuri, was no match for the Black Army. During the fighting, the Lord of Black captures half of the Chain Chronicle, as well as the capital

Promotional Video


Before giving you my first impression of the series, I think it would be clever to give you the basic story of the video game, although I didn’t play it. I took out the story information from the Wikipedia page.

The continent of Yggdra (ユグド Yugudo?) is a place where humans, ogres, giants, forest sprites, and many more mythical creatures live. Led by the Holy King, the continent was at peace until one day, a mysterious group called the Black Army (黒の軍勢 Kuro no Gunzei?) appeared and started conquering the land. In response, the Holy King and its troops fought against it, but Holy Capital fell and the Holy King was killed by the mysterious Black King. As the continent was in the glimpse of destruction, hope glimmered as one man, you, the Hero, decided to fight back and formed the Volunteer Army to oppose the Black King and bring peace back to Yggdra.


Now what do I think of this series..,

Yuuri the main character

Yuuri the main character

I must say I was a bit a loss when I start watching the first episode, in fact those four episode presented look more like a short movie they cut in four parts, cause the beginning of the first episode probably start where the video game end, thus I feel like it miss something in the beginning, we have some explanation later, but not much. That’s why I provide you the game story and I must say that I might give a look to the Wikia page, hoping to not spoil myself to much if there is any spoiler on the pages.

Looking over the fact we doesn’t have a lot of information about what is happening, the series seems promising, mostly regarding the fighting scene which are great in my own opinion. I like was I saw so far. the sword combat with the magical fight are nicely choreograph and those chain attack are pretty cool and seems to be really powerful.

Velnar

Velnar

There is a whole bunch a cool and hot character, but I must say they are all pretty generic at least to me. A Dragon Slayer with a big sword that love to fight it’s not really new, but he have the type of personality that I like, so I don’t mind at all. In those four episode they introduced a lot of character, the one I enjoyed the most was one of the mage Velnar, he is a sealer ( don’t ask me what that mean, I have no clue) with a lot a cool tattoo on his body.


For the moment I’m not disappointed and I’m totally looking forward the next episode, the preview got me half worry, half curious.

3 responses to “First Impression – Chain Chronicle: The Light of Haecceitas

  1. Pingback: Round-Up Week 16 – Mel in Anime Land·

Leave a Reply

