First Impression: Hand Shakers

Last years, I came across the anime series K-Project, which I really enjoyed and when I saw Hand Shakers was made by the same studio than K-Project, GoHands, I decide to give it a try.

Basic Information

Genre: Action
Aired Date: Wednesday
Episode Count: 12
Licensors: FUNimation Entertainment
Rating: PG-13 – Teens 13 or older

Synopsis

My Anime List

The anime takes place in Osaka in “AD20XX,” and revolves around the Hand Shakers—partners who can summon “Nimrodes,” weapons born from their deep psyche by joining hands. In order to grant the pair’s wish, the Hand Shakers compete with and fight other Hand Shaker pairs. The top pair will then meet and challenge “God.”

“They, the receivers of the Revelation of Babel. They, the challengers to God.
They, who inevitably throw themselves into battle with their partners. What does God want from them?
And did they want powers exceeding that of Gods? The chosen ones, their souls linked,
join hand and hand for the Ziggurat where the fighting shall ensue.”

Crunchyroll

Tazuna is a high school student, living in Osaka, who loves to fiddle around with machines. One day, he receives a repair request from an university laboratory. He accepts the request and ends up meeting a girl named Koyori, who has been bedridden for a very long time. Suddenly, Tazuna and Koyori get pulled into a whole different world called “Ziggurat”. In this world, there are Hand Shakers, two people who touch hands and create the Nimrod. Their goal is to defeat other Hand Shakers in order to gain an audience with “God”, who will grant them wishes. Protect with your own Hands!

Promotional Video


 

I would really like to give you a decent First Impression post about the series, but I just can’t do it. To be honest with you it took me everything to finish watching the second episode. It was really painful to watch.
I was trying to stay concentrate on what the doctor was saying but the whole visual of the series is really distracting. It half CG, half normal graphic and don’t get me started on the color. There is something off with this show and I can’t put my finger on what it is.
It sad, cause I was really looking forward to watch it.

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t tell you the show is garbage and suck…I just don’t like it.
Watch it if you feel like it, I won’t judge you.

5 responses to “First Impression: Hand Shakers

  1. I think the issue with the colour is that every surface has about three colours rather than one. It’s extremely distracting when everything is gleaming and multiple tones and then we keep moving around with the camera angles as well. I don’t think you missed much by not being able to focus on the doctor’s explanation. I watched it a second time and still came to the conclusion the only thing he said was we know nothing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Mel’s Round-Up Week 17 – Mel in Anime Land·

Leave a Reply

