[Manga] Detective Conan 

Detective Conan is a shounen manga written by Aoyama Gosho. The first chapter was published in 1994 in the magazine Weekly Shōnen Sunday. Until today, there is 91 Japanese Volumes released.


Basic Information

Mangaka: Aoyama, Gosho
Genre: Adventure, Comedy, Mystery, Shounen, Police
Status: On-going
Original Run: January – Present

Synopsis

My Anime List

Kudou Shinichi is a seventeen year-old high school detective whom people call the “Modern Sherlock Holmes.” However, one night after a date with his childhood sweetheart, Ran, Shinichi witnessed an illegal trade and, caught off his guard, was knocked unconscious and fed a drug that was supposed to kill him… but he woke up and found himself shrunken to a seven year-old. In order to track down the men who did this to him, Shinichi hid his identity and lived with Ran, whose father happened to be a hopeless detective, and with that came a series of murders and mysteries that he must solve.


 

I don’t remember how I came across Detective Conan, but I do remember it’s being awhile I’m reading it. It’s been eleven years I’m at my actual workplace and I start reading it when I was working for an other retailer, company where I work about three years. Thus, It’s been about fourteen years, I reading this series and I’m not planning to stop anytime soon.

I really enjoy the story, a high school student, Kudo Shinichi,get shrink, he now look like an elementary kid but think like high school student, plus he is leaving at his crush house,Mouri Ran, and he can see her naked all he want, what a great life for him. He just have to wish the crush never come to know it. Cause the girl can kick ass, she it the captain of her Karate high school club. While trying to find a way to get back to his normal self, Kudo solve mysteries, that can go from robbery to murder, with his new elementary friend. Really wonder in which world we allowed six years old kid to solve murder.

I really enjoy every single character of this series, even the one that should come off as annoying, like Sonoko Suzuki. My favorite character is definitely Hattori Heiji. Like Shinichi, he is a high school detective student, his father work in the police (if i remember well he is the prefect of Osaka or something like that) and he normally have an easy-going attitude until he have to solve some mysteries at that moment he become really serious.

So far there is 91 Japanese volumes released, and looking at how the series going, I doubt Aoyama finish it anytime soon. It will feel really weird when the series will be over.
There is also an anime series which started airing in 1996 and count 847 episode at the moment I’m writing those line. Of course I would like to watch the series, but I’m not brave enough to watch the 847 episodes.


Have you read or watch the series? What did you think of it? Are you planning to start watching or reading it ?
Let me know in the comment section below.

2 responses to “[Manga] Detective Conan 

  1. Pingback: Mel’s Round-Up Week 18 – Mel in Anime Land·

  2. Pingback: Detective Conan Manga Passed the Mark of 1000 Published Chapters | Mel in Anime Land·

Leave a Reply

