[Manga] Angelic Layer

Written and Illustrated by the group CLAMP (Card Captor Sakura, Chobits, Code Geass), Angleic Layers is a shounen (strangely yes) manga. The series was published in the Shounen Ace magazine from July 1999 to October 2001 and count five volumes.


Basic Information

Original Title: Angelic Layer
Mangaka: CLAMP
Genre: Action, Comedy, Drama, Game, Sci-Fi, Shounen
Status: Complete
Chapters: 28
Volume: 5
Original Run:  July 1999 to October 2001
Demographic: Shounen

Synopsis

My Anime List

In the future, the most popular game in the world is Angelic Layer. Contestants must raise and train their own ‘Angels’ (or fighting dolls) to compete in tournaments. Enter Misaki Suzuhara, sixth grade Angelic Layer prodigy. With her speed-type angel, Hikaru, many people think Misaki stands a chance at winning the championship. She’ll have a lot of help along the way, but the road to victory will be not be an easy route, especially for someone as young as Misaki.


I read Angelic Layers a while a go and I seriously thought I will have to read it again before writing this post, like I did for Zombie-Loan, but surprisingly I didn’t have to read the five volumes, cause more I was reading it, more I was remembering the series. I must admit, I did learn something while doing my research for the series information. I always thought it was a shoujo manga, probably cause the main character Misaki is a girl, however I was wrong, it’s a shounen. A series manga targeting young male focused on doll…

I really enjoyed the series, I remember when I was reading it for the first time, I wished to get my hand on one of those doll, sadly it’s not possible yet, but one day I’m sure we will have it.

The journey of Misaki into the world of Angelic Layer is really interesting. Misaki is a cheerful little girl who move to her aunt house. On her first day in Tokyo, she get lost in Tokyo train station. while trying to figure her way, she witness the fight of two Angel (doll) on a TV screen. Seeing that even a small angelic can win against a bigger or heavier opponent, she decide to get one to herself. But the angel fight are not that easy as it might look, however Misaki will continue to walk her path, fighting against more experimented handler than her. Misaki doesn’t have any special abilities when it come to sport, she doesn’t know hot to fight, but she is observant and clever with those two qualities she will be able to climb among the top contestant.

Although I really like Misaki and her angel Hikaru, My favorite Angel is most probably Wizard. His handler Mihara Ojiro is the little brother of the brain behind Angelic Layers and Ojiro is the runner-up of the National Game for two years in a row. Wizard can generated an electric shield using static electric, the technique is called Magic Guard.

The manga series got adapted into an anime series of 26 episode. It aired between April 2001 to September 2001, the studio behind the adaptation is Bones. I haven’t seen it yet, but it’s on my watch list. I’m, really curious to see the combat.

4 responses to “[Manga] Angelic Layer

  1. Pingback: Mel’s Round-Up Week 20 – Mel in Anime Land·

  2. I’ve read this manga and seen the anime. Angelic layer anime was my first anime ever so it’s very special to me. I know you’ll enjoy the anime adaptation sticks well to the short manga a bit, it is such a fun, happy series of seeing misaki and hikaru battle in the games XD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Lita’s Blogger Feature Friday + Post A Rama and… Livestream Announcement!! – LitaKinoAnimeCorner·

Leave a Reply

