[First Impression] Tanaka-Kun is Always Listless

Basic Information

Title: Tanaka-Kun is Always Listless
Genre: Slice of Life, Comedy, School
Studio: Silver Link
Aired Date: Apr 9, 2016 to Jun 25, 2016
Episode Count: 12
Rating: PG-13 – Teens 13 or older


Synopsis

My Anime List

For high school student Tanaka, the act of being listless is a way of life. Known for his inattentiveness and ability to fall asleep anywhere, Tanaka prays that each day will be as uneventful as the last, seeking to preserve his lazy lifestyle however he can by avoiding situations that require him to exert himself. Along with his dependable friend Oota who helps him with tasks he is unable to accomplish, the lethargic teenager constantly deals with events that prevent him from experiencing the quiet and peaceful days he longs for.

Promotional Video


Tanaka-Kun is Always Listless is a series that originally aired during the Spring season of 2016, which happen to be just before I decide to dive back head first in the anime world. Now the Winter Season 2017 in drawing near and I haven’t found a lot to watch from the upcoming Spring season, I decide to give a look to anime that already aired. Lately I watched Touken Ranbu: Hanamaru (You read my impression on the series here and here) and I was wondering what I should watch next. If I stop my choice on Tanaka-kun is Always Listless it’s mainly cause a fellow ani-blogger, Lethargic Rambling, used it as mascot.

After watching the two first episodes, “Tanaka-kun and Ohta-kun” and “Apprenticeship Application”, I thought it was probably of the best decision I made to give that series a try. As I said in past post, I’m not pulled toward the Slice of Life genre, I did watch some, but it’s the genre I will not really look for, thus this series wasn’t high on my priority list, but it have a strong comedic side so did really enjoyed those two first episodes.

In “Tanaka-Kun and Ohta-kun”, I just found Tanaka being extremely lucky to have Ohta-kun around, while the latter is a normal (if I can used that word to differentiate him from Tanaka) school student he does help his friend a lot, by carrying him around if Tanaka fell asleep somewhere. If it wasn’t of Ohta, Tanaka would probably missed a lost of his classes. Ohta is probably the best friend Tanaka can have.

In “Apprenticeship Application” Tanaka listless style of life can threaten by a classmate Miyano who wish to become Tanaka apprentice for the wrong reason, she want to become more mature for the one she love, but Tanaka make her understand she is too hard-working to become listless like he is and that is the one she like, like her the way she is now, she doesn’t have to change. Later in the same episode Miyano achieve that listless style of Tanaka without realizing it herself, she was just overthinking about something.

Both episode gave me a lot of good laugh and both Tanaka and Ohta are cutie. I will definitely watch it and come back with a full impression of the series


Little trivia

Tanaka-Kun voice actor Ono Kensho is also voicing Kuroko Tetsuya who is the complete opposite of Tanaka. While Tanaka is probably more lazy than a sloth, Kuroko is really hard-working.

4 responses to “[First Impression] Tanaka-Kun is Always Listless

  1. Wow, thanks for the mention here. I’m glad I was able to motivate you to try the series out!

    It’s one of my favourites, so I’m glad you’re enjoying it so far! I’d love a season two one day, that’d be great!

    Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for reading! ! And your welcome 😀

      Seeing the picture of the series in your post made me really curious about it so I decided to give it a try.

      I really enjoy it 😄

      Like

  2. Pingback: Mel’s Round-Up Week 28 – Mel in Anime Land·

  3. Pingback: Tanaka-Kun is Always Listless – Mel in Anime Land·

Leave a Reply

