[First Impression] Sword Art Online II

English Title: Sword Art Oline II
Genre: Action, Game, Adventure, Romance, Fantasy
Aired Date: Jul 5, 2014 to Dec 20, 2014
Episode Count: 24

Synopsis

A year after escaping Sword Art Online, Kazuto Kirigaya has been settling back into the real world. However, his peace is short-lived as a new incident occurs in a game called Gun Gale Online, where a player by the name of Death Gun appears to be killing people in the real world by shooting them in-game. Approached by officials to assist in investigating the murders, Kazuto assumes his persona of Kirito once again and logs into Gun Gale Online, intent on stopping the killer.

Once inside, Kirito meets Sinon, a highly skilled sniper afflicted by a traumatic past. She is soon dragged in his chase after Death Gun, and together they enter the Bullet of Bullets, a tournament where their target is sure to appear. Uncertain of Death Gun’s real powers, Kirito and Sinon race to stop him before he has the chance to claim another life. Not everything goes smoothly, however, as scars from the past impede their progress. In a high-stakes game where the next victim could easily be one of them, Kirito puts his life on the line in the virtual world once more.
My Anime List

Promotional Video

_______________

I think it was about time I start it, if I want to pass to something else after. It’s not like I was feeling forced, but I know I will not watch any series that is not from the season if I don’t finish this one, unless it’s for a special post.

That being said, I have to say that I know I will prefer the 1st season setting over than this one. I have nothing against the post-apocalyptic setting, it’s just that I prefer the Medieval more fantasy looking one, but the background setting still look pretty good.

Once again the antagonist was presented right from the beginning, it would have been nice to have a bit more mystery around it, but they decide to do the same thing they did with the first season or almost, unless Death Gun have a double personality in the game like Kayaba Akihito had.

Of course I’m only one episode in, thus I can go on and on about it, but one think I know is Kirito new avatar will be a girl…a female version of Kirito like his twin sister.

I’m curious to see what will happen next, hopefully the fight scene will be as good as the 1st season.

6 responses to “[First Impression] Sword Art Online II

  1. I like the story for GGO but I think the fight sequences will disappoint. Gun fights just aren’t as interesting to watch as sword fights (something the show clearly knows given Kirito ends up with a sword – they can call it whatever they like). But then you have sword vs gun which is not exactly a thrilling match up either.
    Hope you enjoy your watch either way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m passed the Phantom bullet arc. The last fight scene was interesting, like they were doing the parallel between GGO and SAO, I like that. There is few thing I was annoyed with, but I will keep that for my final post

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: Mel’s Round-Up Week 45 | Mel in Anime Land·

  3. Oh just wait until you get to this particular arc… you will hate it. After that though, you get the best thing the series has ever done. Ever. So hope you can stick it out to the very end ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I used to adore all things SAO but the second half of season 2 kind of ruined things for me. It just wasn’t what I expected and I just wasn’t fond of it. The first half I felt was decent but nothing will beat the beginning of season one. In curious to see how you like the rest of the season.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

